Ehud Would – My Testimony (Part 1): Racial and Christian Awakenings

Teacher%20Estela%20Rosales-Harrigan%20works%20with%20her%20second-grade%20students%20during%20a%20class%20taught%20in%20Spanish%20at%20Independence%20Elementary%20School%20in%20Bolingbrook%20%28Zbigniew%20Bzdak%2C%20Chicago%20Tribune%29

via Faith and Heritage:

[. . .]

My mother, being a product of the time, was appalled at my grandparents’ rationale for moving out of Bell to a safer (Whiter) neighborhood and, after a good deal of fighting, she opted to move my sister and me away from her parents’ bigoted influences. We got an apartment in Bell Gardens where my mother enrolled me in Suva Elementary. Trouble was, even under the circumstance of a 50% White population for the city, the ratios of minority children were far higher than those of Whites. What this meant for my school, believe it or not, is that there were no English-taught classes available. Yes, I attended kindergarten and first grade taught all in Spanish. And as an English-only speaker, this meant that the teachers merely sat me in the corner with crayons while they tended to prepping the foreign legions to commandeer my inheritance.

Sometime in my teenage years it occurred to me that if such a thing had been done to a non-White student (for two years), it would have been considered a scandalous “civil rights” as well as a “human rights” violation, and a matter of international outrage. This realization, among others, would slowly impel me to acknowledge a thing totally at odds with the social narrative I would learn in government school and the network media – that White people had, both socially and legally, somehow become second-class citizens in their own lands.

But when my grandparents learned of the pitiable educational situation to which my mother had resigned me, they insisted we move back in with them at their new Paramount home. From there I could finally attend school taught in English. Her multicultural vision for my education having somehow resulted in no education for me, my mother grudgingly conceded. But not without suggesting that instead of drawing, I should have paid attention in those Spanish-taught classes and learned the language.

The adult population of Paramount (and Hollydale, the adjoining suburb where my new school was located) was at that time still almost exclusively White, but the demographics of my new school itself were tipped slightly in the other direction – probably only 35% White. Obviously, this huge age-correlated disparity spoke to the semi-geriatric and largely childless White community there. But there were other factors in play which would shortly exacerbate that offset further.

My first day we met with my new principal, a Korean woman, and the vice principal, a Black woman. The former spoke clearly, if mechanically, but the latter was nigh unintelligible for her broken English and foreign inflection, which is so characteristic of the Black community and which would shortly be heralded in government schools as an official American dialect: “Ebonics.”

[. . .]

Read more at Faith and Heritage. . . .

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

